Shoei RF1200 – This is It! (Video Review)

Screen Shot 2015-02-28 at 7.20.15 PM

This is technically my 4th helmet is 2 years. I think I’m settled, and at the same time, in love. Helmets before this, the AFX31, Schuberth C3, a borrowed GT-Air for testing (which I’m not counting in the total), and a briefly owned Shoei Neotec. Video review and photos after the jump…

The AFX was too cheap, and loud. I made that purchase now knowing much about helmets at all, or knowing what kind of rider i was. It worked, but when winter 2014 came around i wanted something warmer and quieter. I loved the Scuberth C3 and convinced myself it fit fine. After some minor tweaking it was great. I loved that helmet and used the hell out of it for a full year. At a certain point i realized it actually didn’t fit right, with minor pain points that were still bothering me, but more importantly i noticed that there was space between the top of my head and my helmet. I moved on to trying my brother in laws newly acquired used Shoei GT-Air. I tried that for a week, and didn’t love it. Funny because i thought i would. I then found a used Neotec in perfect condition. I quickly snagged it up, loved it when it arrived, but upon my first ride realized right away that the shell was just too big.

I finally went to the SHOEI RF1200. After my first ride, i have no more doubts. Its light weight, got a small shell, and is the safest of the bunch. My only minor grip is that i don’t yet have a tinted shield. They make tinted shields of course, but i don’t want to swap shields out. Im waiting for the photochromatic transition shield that should be coming out late april (i hope, as its been delayed several times).

It took almost 2 years, but i think this is finally the helmet that will stick with me for a while. Im excited to tour with it, as you barely feel it on your head. Less rider fatigue on long days.

Make sure to go full screen and choose 1080p:

Pros

  • Light Weight
  • Small Shell
  • You barely feel it on when riding
  • Comfortable interior
  • Comes with pin lock insert which i couldn’t live without
  • Safe (Snell Approved)
  • Beautiful Paint and overall Design
  • 3 different size liners and cheek pads available

Cons

  • Too many vents to adjust, with small controls
  • Helmet gets loud when chin vent is open
  • Photochromatic transition shield not yet available after several delays
  • I’d prefer a ratchet closure instead of a D-Ring, but i might be in the minority on that one

If you like this review, are on planning on purchasing this helmet, please use this link. Its good for 24 hours.

Leave a comment